New Azerbaijan Party is the party of past, present and future!


Azerbaijani first lady Mehriban Aliyeva awarded by Turkish-German Friendship Federation


Azerbaijani first lady, president of the Heydar Aliyev Foundation, UNESCO and ISESCO Goodwill Ambassador Mehriban Aliyeva has been awarded by the Turkish-German Friendship Federation for her contribution to strengthening inter-civilization dialogue, promoting the Turkic world in Germany, and developing Azerbaijan-Germany relations.

At a ceremony held at the Bavarian State Parliament, Azerbaijani ambassador Parviz Shahbazov collected the award on behalf of Mehriban Aliyeva.
Speaking to the ceremony, president of the Turkish-German Friendship Federation Cehan Sendan said: “We thank Madam Mehriban Aliyeva for her services. How could we emphasize her activities? How could we promote Turkey-Azerbaijan and Azerbaijan-Germany friendship through our Federation? So by awarding her we appreciated her labor in this process.”

On behalf of Azerbaijani first lady, president of the Heydar Aliyev Foundation Mehriban Aliyeva, the Azerbaijani ambassador thanked the Federation for the award. He invited the management of the Federation to pay a visit to Azerbaijan.

Shahbazov highlighted Azerbaijan`s achievements, saying the county was known worldwide for its rich history, culture, music, arts and tolerance.
He said the Heydar Aliyev Foundation had carried out a number of important projects in Germany, particularly Contemporary Art and Fly to Baku exhibitions in Berlin, and Azerbaijani culture evenings in Munich, Cologne, Stuttgart and Hamburg.

Vice-President of the Bavarian State Parliament Inge Aures hailed the Heydar Aliyev Foundation`s assistance to building schools and restoring religious monuments.

Among those who received the award of the Federation this year are Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy and Vice Chancellor of Germany Sigmar Gabriel, artist Bulent Ceylan, and President of Bavarian Football Association Rainer Koch.

In his remarks, Koch also praised the activities of the Azerbaijani first lady.

Holders of the Federation`s award include German Chancellor Angela Merkel, former German president Johannes Rau, former President of the German Federal Parliament Rita Süssmuth, former chairwoman of the German Green Party Claudia Roth, former Turkish leader Suleyman Demirel, and Bavarian prime minister Günther Beckstein.